top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAkuji Enitan

lexapro

before i met you i was a mess

i didnt shower

i never woke up

when i did it was few and far in between the day

i was worthless before you

you supported me

and loved me

and told me it was okay to live

it was fine to see tomorrow

every day at 7 am you make me a little bit happier

but i was fool drunk in love with the feelings of joy

i used you and forgot about you

you as the one who helped me brush my hair

the one who told me to wash that shirt before wearing it

lexapro you are sly,

and i

overconfident

i thought it was me

i thought i was making me happy

so i put you aside to start my new and improved life

day by day you took what was yours

for a week

you took everything i thought was mine

you took my laughter

you took my time

you took my energy to get up


slowly for a week i returned to an empty husk that had no meaning

while laying, crying, and wondering why i should breath i remembered you

and i knew

my happiness was not mine but yours

you were the one who gave it to me

so you were the one to take it back

you showed me who was in charge

i held no part in making myself happy

except when

i take you out the bottle


4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

broken dream.

were you mad? no never, just tired, always, tired. were you sad? yes, always never happy, i'm just a crier.

oh well

why is my heart always so heavy isn't my sadness enough already i'm just trying to keep steady i'm trying i'm trying i'm trying i'm trying but it just seems like i'm always crying and when people ask

bottom of page