top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAkuji Enitan

Birdy Birdy

soft and delicate

i feared for your life

and took you home

you were getting ready for eternal sleep

but i was not

i gently shook you awake

offering nectar of a flower you love

you stretched your wings and took drink

i smiled in relief and took one blink

in a second while my eyes closed

you were no longer with me

your tongue still out and my tears falling

gently brushing you

no longer soft, no longer warm

your tongue still out and your eyes shallow

Birdy Birdy, stiff and lifeless

Birdy Birdy, why'd you leave?

Birdy Birdy, weren't you okay?

Birdy Birdy, why'd you drink? only to trick me?

Birdy Birdy, you left me wailing and crying and screaming why

Birdy Birdy

I'm so sorry.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

broken dream.

were you mad? no never, just tired, always, tired. were you sad? yes, always never happy, i'm just a crier.

oh well

why is my heart always so heavy isn't my sadness enough already i'm just trying to keep steady i'm trying i'm trying i'm trying i'm trying but it just seems like i'm always crying and when people ask

bottom of page